i CONSUME

an ecologically orientated meditation upon the shopping trolley…

I LIVE

I BREATHE

I CONSUME

I WILL USE WHAT I NEED
AND MORE, IF IT IS AVAILABLE (precluding another trip)
AND WILL NOT BEAT MYSELF UP ABOUT IT

I WILL BE THANKFUL

AND SHARE WHAT I HAVE
AND CONTRIBUTE THROUGH IT 
AND GIVE BACK

ENOUGH

and more if i can 

Meditating more upon A BUNDLE OF STICKS, I continued the process of binding for ease of carrying, tying my systematically gathered driftwood three times, choosing only that lying within reach atop the pebble line I was purposively pacing, with discarded rope and cord to create a handle.

So now my mind wandered; those things that I had collected were being held within a conceptual bag – I was ‘shopping’ for firewood, cruising the super-abundant-market of nature, listening to the metaphysical muzak of wind and tide, contented with my suitable wares.

And all of an imaginative moment I correlated my primally hewn bundle with a smooth gliding shopping trolley, carrier of provisional goods!

Admittedly a swivelly-wheeled, magnetically-aligned, metal grilled chariot would not fare well in my immediate domain, but such admission of purpose, my common goal to acquire those things that were necessary for my sustenance and the recognition of an intrinsic, primitive humanity – to gather and then consume – allowed an inner acceptance, an admonishment of any guilt I may feel towards such inherent tendency, and also a chance to reflect upon the nature of those things I might consume, so much at my finger tips, readily within reach, thank you very much wonderful world!

PW2012

One Comment on “i CONSUME”

  1. artistatexit0 says:

    I will carry your meditation with me today.


Leave a Reply

