we swim together 11713

.

to swim in the ocean

just drifting, just breathing

whatever effort i make takes me nowhere, seemingly

without gauge or perspective or relative position

without depth

i can see the shore

and I can see you

but I cannot reach you

 

over there an island floating like me upon the rhythmic sparkling swell

beneath me a crab scurries, following my movement, keeping up, echoing me –

do we know each other from another place and time?

there are fish with red fins in the shallows i can see.

 

somewhere else a friend makes ready to let go of this life

he is in my thoughts and soon he will share in this immensity –

he believes in seven parts – different phases of the moon,

each with its own issues to resolve (or not)

 

and this night i see the new moon near the horizon

low between the treetops

we kiss as we say hello and make a wish

the sun is low, the air cool

 

and i know love

turtle (bideford black on paper; p ward 2013) turtle (bideford black on paper; p ward 2013)

P Ward 2013

Leave a Reply

