2 foolbirds to be

.

I break from my morning meal to follow these two fellows onto the foreshore.

I wonder what the tall one is gazing about while his little friend stumbles in circles at his heels.

I make to meet them but…

 .

An onshore breeze carries a scent of sea and mud and late samphire to my large nostrils.

I become transfixed by the early autumn sunshine over the estuary and long low hills.

My newly found family continue to graze and amble amongst the dew, biting and nipping.

 .

The big black shiny foolbirds are scattering a foul plastic mess again in their search for scraps,

Curleylews shriek mournful warnings – heralds of comings and goings across the salt marsh –

And the tall fellow and his friend continue their daily inspection

 .

Bemused by my air of projected satisfaction and contemplation

Head up and hopefully aware of an otherworldly recognition,

A common sense of pleasure in our place to be.

sunrise over appledore (p ward 2013)sunrise over appledore (p ward 2013)

P Ward 2013

Leave a Reply

